Guest Post ~ J Frank James, author of the Lou Malloy #crime series

J. Frank James is the author of The Lou Malloy Crime Series, which is expected to span 20 books. The series follows Lou Malloy, a hardened criminal who did 15 years in prison for the theft of $15 million, and his partner Hilary Kelly, a private investigator. 

Dead Money Run is the first book in The Lou Malloy Crime Series.

Why Be a Writer?

Just because you have decided to be a writer doesn’t mean you have to get it right. That’s what fiction is for. 

I always find it humorous when a reviewer will chastise a writer for stretching the facts in a work of fiction. For example, if a writer decides to call a lake a pond doesn’t mean the water has changed. The most important thing to remember as a writer is to remember to write. Without that in the equation you end up with nothing but hot air. 

I have heard it said often enough that writers are just storytellers. The first writers were not writers, but storytellers they were. 

In the good old days the wealthy had minstrels whose job was to entertain the rich were bundled up in their cold and dreary castles. In addition to singing and generally making fools of themselves, they told stories. To be a writer today I don’t advocate you make a fool of yourself, but I do advocate entertaining the reader. To do that you have to write with a sense of creativity to make your book interesting and fast paced. How to do that? 

For me my defining moment happened when I quit listening to other opinions. Nothing will kill a writer’s sense of enthusiasm quicker that someone’s opinion on a subject that they know nothing about. Just because your book is rejected or you are told you are not heading in the right direction or they just plain say they don’t like it, doesn’t mean you haven’t written a great book. It just means that that person is not going to buy it. But here is the good news; there are over 7 billion people in the world and while that is a lot of hot air, all you have to do is reach a very small portion of them. Now you are supposed to ask how? The answer is to self-publish. 

In August of 2013 I published my first book, Dead Money Run. Since then I have published ten books and I have five more in the queue. If I can do it anyone can do it. You just have to write. 

There are many vehicles on the publishing landscape that will help you proof your book, publish it and help you market it. The days of beating the pavement for an agent are gone. While the self-publishing sector is just getting started, it is, in my opinion, the future. If you want to control your destiny as a writer you will embrace as I have done. 

A good way to start is with Amazon’s Createspace for hardcovers and paperbacks and Kindle Select for ebooks. At Createspace they take the guesswork out of getting your book to market. See www.createspace.com and www.kdp.amazon.com.

Dead Money RunAbout the book

Lou Malloy learns of his sister’s death right before he is released from prison, having served 15 years for the theft of $15 million from an Indian casino. He wants two things: to keep the $15 million, which no one has been able to find, and to track down and punish whoever killed his sister.   

Lou Malloy teams up with Hilary Kelly, a private investigator. In no time, Lou has found the hidden $15 million, recovered guns and ammunition hidden with the money, and murdered two low-level mobsters and fed them to the crocodiles. 

As the body count rises, the story grows more complex and his sister’s death becomes more mysterious.  

About the Author

J. Frank JamesJ. Frank James has a passion for writing, and he certainly has the knowledge and experience to write realistic crime thrillers, thanks to his extensive background in law. Jim attended law school, where he was a member of the law review. He even went on to pass the state bar and started his own law practice that specialized in complex litigation. Jim’s experience in law helps lend credibility to his crime fiction books. He has also traveled extensively and gains inspiration for his crime thrillers from his travels. From observing other cultures and gaining new experiences, Jim is able to infuse new life into his books and develop believable characters that readers can identify with.

J. Frank James writes crime thriller novels that are gripping and suspenseful. In 2013, he began publishing The Lou Malloy Crime Series, which is expected to span 20 books. The series follows Lou Malloy, a hardened criminal who did 15 years in prison for the theft of $15 million, and his partner Hilary Kelly, a private investigator. The titles include The Run Begins, Dead Money Run, Only Two Cats, Blue Cat in Paradise, Rainbow Games, Two Birds To Kill, Last Flamingo, and Finders, Keepers.  J. Frank James creates all of his own book covers. To learn more, go to http://www.jfrankjamesbooks.com/  

Connect with J. Frank James on Twitter, Goodreads, and Facebook.

Praise for Dead Money Run:

“Dead Money Run is a hard-boiled thriller. It is a book of short chapters and almost unrelenting excitement as Lou and Hillary Kelly avoid cops, kill mobsters, and try to unravel the mystery of who killed Lou’s sister and why.” – Reviewed by Wally Wood at BookPleasures.com

“Fans of James Ellroy and Elmore Leonard are going to love James’ ingenious capers, devious characters and wry humor. The entire book goes down like a strong yet smooth shot of bourbon.” – Reviewed by BestThrillers.com

“Dead Money Run by J. Frank James is a pure adrenalin rush from the very beginning. Yes, it is very violent with some strong language, but filled with excitement that keeps the reader wanting to know what comes next.” – Reviewed by Paul Johnson for Readers’ Favorite

“J. Frank James did a very nice job constructing a fast moving plot for Dead Money Run. It is intriguing and thrilling. However, the reader should be prepared for a bit of gruesome violence. Yet, the violence doesn’t override the mystery and suspense within the story. Hold on to whatever it is that you’re sitting on as you read this story, because James is about to take you on a wild ride.” – Reviewed by Red City Review

5 thoughts on “Guest Post ~ J Frank James, author of the Lou Malloy #crime series

  1. I like the sound of this series James and you have an amazing output of work – I agree totally with your view on reviewers who chastise writers about the facts as well. I shall go and check out your books, lovely to meet you.

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for visiting...please share your thoughts too...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.