#SpotlightFeature ~ And Then There’s Margaret by Carolyn Clarke #Dramedy #TuesdayBookBlog

Carolyn ClarkeCarolyn Clarke is the founder and curator of HenLit, a blog focused on ‘life and lit’ for women over 40. And Then There’s Margaret is her first novel. She has been an ESL teacher for over sixteen years and has co-authored several articles and resources with Cambridge University Press, MacMillan Education and her award-winning blog ESL Made Easy. She lives in Toronto, Canada with her partner, Tony, her two daughters and of course her bulldog, Sophie.

elegant-1769669_640

And Then There’s Margaret was published by Black Rose Writing July 21 2022

4138YGajj4LMarriage and midlife can be difficult. And when you add a controlling, manipulative, and self-absorbed mother-in-law into the mix, things can get worse—much worse. Toxic even. Especially when Allison Montgomery’s beloved father-in-law, and long-time confidant, George, passes away and her mother-in-law, Margaret, ‘temporarily’ moves in.

From rearranging the furniture and taking over the kitchen to embarrassing and undermining Allie at every turn, including funding her daughter’s escape and throwing hissy fits in public, Margaret turns Allie’s life upside down.

Allie bounces between a sincere desire to be supportive of her grieving mother-in-law and the occasional, intense urge to push her out the nearest window. Feeling annoyed, trapped and even a little childish, Allie struggles to avoid a complete meltdown with help from her fearless and audacious best friend, a plan for reinventing herself and, yes, a few glasses of Chardonnay. Can Allie survive her mother-in-law, all while navigating through the trials and tribulations of midlife, the anxieties of parenting adult children, and a twenty-two-year-old marriage? Maybe…

 This is an entertaining, witty, and sharp read, with relatable characters that many readers will connect with…And Then There’s Margaret will appeal to readers of women’s fiction, comedy, and family sagas. Readers’ Choice Book Awards – Finalist – Best Adult Fiction

Funny and sharp…An often-entertaining story of a middle-aged protagonist who finds a new connection with her in-law and a new lease on life. Kirkus Reviews

For fans of Maria Semple’s Where’d You Go Bernadette or Camille Pagan’s I’m Fine and Neither Are You, comes the perfect laugh-out-loud ‘dramedy’. And Then There’s Margaret takes readers on a relatable and hilarious ride, as Allie realizes the only way to survive the angst of family is to let go….and let be.

If you’d like to read Chapter 1 of And Then There’s Margaret, you can find it here: HenLit Central

2022 Nᴇxᴛ Gᴇɴᴇʀᴀᴛɪᴏɴ Iɴᴅɪᴇ Bᴏᴏᴋ Aᴡᴀʀᴅ – Cʜɪᴄᴋ Lɪᴛ – Fɪɴᴀʟɪsᴛ
2022 Mᴀxʏ Aᴡᴀʀᴅ – Lɪᴛᴇʀᴀʀʏ & Hᴜᴍᴏʀ – Wɪɴɴᴇʀ
Cʜɪᴄᴋ Lɪᴛ Cᴀғᴇ – Bᴏᴏᴋ Exᴄᴇʟʟᴇɴᴄᴇ Aᴡᴀʀᴅ Wɪɴɴᴇʀ – Wᴏᴍᴇɴ’s Fɪᴄᴛɪᴏɴ & Hᴜᴍᴏʀ
2022 Rᴇᴀᴅᴇʀs’ Cʜᴏɪᴄᴇ Bᴏᴏᴋ Aᴡᴀʀᴅs ғᴏʀ Aᴅᴜʟᴛs – Fɪɴᴀʟɪsᴛ
2022 Rᴇᴀᴅᴇʀs’ Fᴀᴠᴏʀɪᴛᴇ – Hᴜᴍᴏʀ/Cᴏᴍᴇᴅʏ – Fɪɴᴀʟɪsᴛ

Buy the book here: Amazon US  Amazon CD

2 thoughts on “#SpotlightFeature ~ And Then There’s Margaret by Carolyn Clarke #Dramedy #TuesdayBookBlog

Thanks for visiting...feel free to share your thoughts...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.