Beneath the Ashes (DI Will Jackman #2) by Jane Isaac #BookReview #Crime @JaneIsaacAuthor

  • Author: Jane Isaac
  • Published: November 2016 by Legend Press
  • Category; Police Procedural, Crime, Suspense, Book Review, Books, Reading

The floor felt hard beneath her face. Nancy opened her eyes. Blinked several times. A pain seared through her head. She could feel fluid. No. She was lying in fluid.

When a body is discovered in a burnt-out barn in the Warwickshire countryside, DI Will Jackman is called to investigate.

DI Will Jackman is called to the remains of a burnt out barn, appearing initially as a straightforward case of arson. Until a  burned body is discovered. When Will calls at the nearest farmhouse to speak to the owners of the barn, he finds a confused and injured young woman. Nancy Faraday is in a relationship with the manager of the farm, Evan Baker, and the owners are abroad. Nancy can’t remember anything after spending the evening in the pub with Evan, or why she woke up on the kitchen floor amid shards of glass from the shattered back door. Continue reading

Ryan Kaine: On the Run by @KerryJDonovan #BookReview for #RBRT #FridayReads

  • Author: Kerry J Donovan
  • Published: May 2017 by Human Vertex Publications
  • Category: Crime, Thriller, Suspense, Book Review, Books, Reading

A passenger plane explodes. Eighty-three people die. One man is responsible.

When an apparently routine operation ends in tragedy, decorated ex-Royal Marine, Ryan Kaine, becomes the target of a nationwide manhunt. The police want him on terrorism charges, and a sinister organisation wants him dead. 

Former Royal Marine Captain Ryan Kaine, six miles out to sea in a fishing boat, believes he’s shot down the unmanned drone as per his contract to destroy it, but then he realises the weapon he’d used seems to be on a countdown. With no time to process what was happening he heaved the weapon overboard. As explosions rocked the boat violently he knew his only choice was to swim for his life, before the boat sank and he was caught in the undertow.  Continue reading

Little Boy Lost by J.D. Trafford ~ Legal #Thriller #BookReview @LittleBirdPub

  • Author: J.D. Trafford
  • Publishing on August 1st 2017 by Thomas & Mercer
  • Category: Crime, Contemporary, Police Procedural, Legal Thriller, Book Review, Books, Reading 

Attorney Justin Glass’s practice, housed in a shabby office on the north side of Saint Louis, isn’t doing so well that he can afford to work for free. But when eight-year-old Tanisha Walker offers him a jar full of change to find her missing brother, he doesn’t have the heart to turn her away.

Justin Glass hails from a prominent political family; his father is the most senior US congressman in Missouri, his grandfather a retired Federal District Court Judge and his brother is a state senator. Justin has a small law practice. His life fell to pieces after his wife died. He was fired from his previous, more prestigious job and lost his house after getting into debt. Now he and his daughter, Sammy, live with his mother and grandfather. His one-man office is in the seedier part of town and he has a small contract with the Saint Louis Public Defender’s Office, which helps with the finances. Continue reading

Made Safe by Francis Sparks #Crime #Thriller reviewed for #RBRT #TuesdayBookBlog @writingsparks

  • Author: Francis Sparks
  • Published: January 2017 by Pandamoon Publishing
  • Category: Crime, Thriller, Book Review, Books, Reading

For Private Investigator, Moses Winter, the job just got more complicated. His adultery case has taken a violent turn landing the subject of his investigation, Fred Dunsmore, in the hospital and Moses in jail. Moses is held for questioning along with his erratic client, Sharon Dunsmore, and Fred’s mistress, a Bosnian refugee who just happens to be related to the DCI agent investigating the case, Raif Rakić.

When Private Investigator Moses Winter was hired by Sharon Dunsmore to find out if her husband was having an affair, he got way more than he bargained for. What had seemed like a straightforward infidelity case turns into something much darker when Sharon and Moses confront Fred Dunsmore and his girlfriend, Šejla, a Bosnian refugee. Sharon has a gun, which happened to belong to Moses, Šejla has a knife and Fred ends up in hospital fighting for his life, while Moses winds up in jail. When Fred goes missing the case takes on a whole new slant. Continue reading

Dead Hope by Nicky Wells #RomanticSuspense #BookReview @WellsNicky

  • Author: Nicky Wells
  • Published: February 2017 by CreateSpace independent Publishing Platform
  • Category: Romance, Suspense, Mystery, Book Review, Books, Reading.

Cat Hope doesn’t want to go to prison. She needs a job, and she needs it fast: judge’s orders.

Kay Mahon, office worker by day and hacker by night, is on the run from a past life that he’d rather not remember.

At thirty-one Cat Hope is the archetypal spoilt little rich girl, living off the legacy of her deceased rock superstar parents. Until one day she finds herself in front of Judge Peterson on a drugs charge. Given the choice between the judge’s idea of rehab or prison, Cat opts for rehab. 

It’s rehab, Cat, but not as you know it.

The conditions of her sentence require her changing her home and name, getting a job in order to support herself and committing to community service.  Cat can’t believe it. She’s been in and out of rehab so often but never like this. And why does she need to change her name? Continue reading

Two Nights by Kathy Reichs #Thriller #FridayReads #Book Review

  • Author: Kathy Reichs
  • Published: June 2017 by Cornerstone Digital
  • Category: Thriller, Crime, Suspense, Book Review, Books, Reading

Meet Sunday Night, a woman with physical and psychological scars, and a killer instinct… 

Sunnie has spent years running from her past, burying secrets and building a life in which she needs no one and feels nothing. But a girl has gone missing, lost in the chaos of a bomb explosion, and the family needs Sunnie’s help. 

Sunday (Sunnie) Night is a recluse with a troubled past, living on a spit of land off the coast of Charleston.  Ex military, she joined the Charleston Police Department until an injury and the prospect of a desk job ended her career in the force. When her foster father, Beau, visits with a proposition, Sunnie is initially wary, not wanting to get involved. She has spent the last few years distancing herself from people. Beau leaves her the details anyway, and after disposing of the piece of paper and a restless night Sunnie retrieves the screwed up piece of paper from the waste basket. Continue reading

#Spotlight ~ The Bride’s Trail (The Trail Series Bk 1) by AA Abbott #Thriller @BrookCottageBks #Extract

Perfect for fans of John Grisham, Jeffrey Archer and Ruth Rendell

Twenty grand has vanished from Shaun Halloran’s casino, and so has gorgeous blonde croupier Kat White. Once he’s tracked her down, he’ll shoot first and ask questions later.

Amy Satterthwaite’s just learned Kat stole her ID for a sham marriage. Desperate to clear her name and save her friend from Shaun, she swallows her pride and turns to arrogant Ross Pritchard for help. But can they find Kat in time?

Twists and tension keep the pages turning in A.A. Abbott’s stunning crime thriller. As Kat’s trail leads from London’s smart Fitzrovia to secret tunnels below central Birmingham, the stakes couldn’t be higher.

Book links ~ Amazon UK | Amazon US   Continue reading

False Lights ( The Gold Detectives Book 2) by Gillian Hamer #Crime #Mystery @GillyHamer #FridayReads

  • Author: Gillian Hamer
  • Published: November 2015 by GE Hamer
  • Category: Murder, Mystery, Suspense, Police Procedural, Book Review, Books, Reading

“No one deserves to die like this. No one.” 

An elderly woman is burnt to death in the remote hamlet of Silver Bay. A young woman dies of an overdose on a notorious Holyhead estate. A drugs war is about to explode. Somebody knows but no one is talking. 

The second book in the Gold Detectives series finds DI Amanda Gold and her team; DS Dara Brennan, DS Kelly Morgan and DS Gethin Jones, dealing with a ruthless killer whose weapon of choice is fire. Continue reading

#Spotlight & #Extract ~ The Broken Life by Jaye Marie #Crime #Thriller @jayedawes2

DI David Snow has a serial killer to catch, a killer as mysterious as the crimes he commits. Snow is due to retire, but not before he discovers who and why someone killed his sergeant, and is now coming after him. What Snow wants, apart from catching the killer, is to understand women and find one to share his life with. The killer seems to have a personal vendetta against Snow, but he is determined that no one else should die because of him. Snow’s efforts are hampered by his failing health, and the arrival of a new sergeant, ‘ruthless’ DS Ruth Winton. Ruth Winton is not what she seems. Alarm bells start to ring when Snow realises she is after more than just his job. Uncovering the truth almost costs Snow his life, but he manages to evade the killer. In a surprise twist, we learn that Snow cannot win, passing the reigns to his junior sergeant, Danny Smith. Can Danny finally outwit the killer, or is he doomed to fail too?

Extract

It was almost midnight, the cold rushing wind the only sound in the empty, deserted streets. The detective was unaware that someone had been following him ever since he left the public house. This had not been a social visit, he had been looking for information, seeking to loosen a few tongues with the help of the local brew. Continue reading

Murder at the Bridge (Exham on Sea Mysteries 5) by @francesevesham #FridayReads #novella

  • Author: Frances Evesham
  • Published: June 2017 on Kindle
  • Category: Cozy Murder/Mystery, Book Review, Books, Reading

It’s summer, the sun’s shining, and Libby Forest is celebrating her son’s country wedding in Somerset, surrounded by friends. What could possibly go wrong?

Taking a moment to relax in the marquee after her son, Robert’s wedding to Sarah, Libby Forrest has a strange conversation with Belinda, the bride’s mother, which is interrupted by an unnerving man in a kaftan, causing Libby to prickle with discomfort and Belinda to make a hasty exit. Libby’s innate curiosity is aroused but before she could process her thoughts she is dismayed to hear an altercation break out over a supposedly stolen ring.  Continue reading