Made Safe by Francis Sparks #Crime #Thriller reviewed for #RBRT #TuesdayBookBlog @writingsparks

  • Author: Francis Sparks
  • Published: January 2017 by Pandamoon Publishing
  • Category: Crime, Thriller, Book Review, Books, Reading

For Private Investigator, Moses Winter, the job just got more complicated. His adultery case has taken a violent turn landing the subject of his investigation, Fred Dunsmore, in the hospital and Moses in jail. Moses is held for questioning along with his erratic client, Sharon Dunsmore, and Fred’s mistress, a Bosnian refugee who just happens to be related to the DCI agent investigating the case, Raif Rakić.

When Private Investigator Moses Winter was hired by Sharon Dunsmore to find out if her husband was having an affair, he got way more than he bargained for. What had seemed like a straightforward infidelity case turns into something much darker when Sharon and Moses confront Fred Dunsmore and his girlfriend, Šejla, a Bosnian refugee. Sharon has a gun, which happened to belong to Moses, Šejla has a knife and Fred ends up in hospital fighting for his life, while Moses winds up in jail. When Fred goes missing the case takes on a whole new slant. Continue reading

Afterlife by Marcus Sakey #BookReview #TuesdayBookBlog @MarcusSakey **Release Day**

  • Author: Marcus Sakey
  • Published: July 2017 by Thomas & Mercer
  • Category: Thriller, Romance, Sci-Fi, Supernatural, Book Review, Books, Reading

Between life and death lies an epic war, a relentless manhunt through two worlds…and an unforgettable love story.

The last thing FBI agent Will Brody remembers is the explosion—a thousand shards of glass surfing a lethal shock wave.

He wakes without a scratch.

The story opens in 1532 as Edmund killed an apprentice and took his place aboard the Persephone, sailing to the new world. Two weeks into the return voyage a violent storm lashed the ship. The cargo and all provisions were lost and the men who survived on the battered ship resorted to desperate measures to stay alive, until only Edmund was left. He died just shy of a mile from land. Continue reading

Two Nights by Kathy Reichs #Thriller #FridayReads #Book Review

  • Author: Kathy Reichs
  • Published: June 2017 by Cornerstone Digital
  • Category: Thriller, Crime, Suspense, Book Review, Books, Reading

Meet Sunday Night, a woman with physical and psychological scars, and a killer instinct… 

Sunnie has spent years running from her past, burying secrets and building a life in which she needs no one and feels nothing. But a girl has gone missing, lost in the chaos of a bomb explosion, and the family needs Sunnie’s help. 

Sunday (Sunnie) Night is a recluse with a troubled past, living on a spit of land off the coast of Charleston.  Ex military, she joined the Charleston Police Department until an injury and the prospect of a desk job ended her career in the force. When her foster father, Beau, visits with a proposition, Sunnie is initially wary, not wanting to get involved. She has spent the last few years distancing herself from people. Beau leaves her the details anyway, and after disposing of the piece of paper and a restless night Sunnie retrieves the screwed up piece of paper from the waste basket. Continue reading

#Spotlight ~ The Bride’s Trail (The Trail Series Bk 1) by AA Abbott #Thriller @BrookCottageBks #Extract

Perfect for fans of John Grisham, Jeffrey Archer and Ruth Rendell

Twenty grand has vanished from Shaun Halloran’s casino, and so has gorgeous blonde croupier Kat White. Once he’s tracked her down, he’ll shoot first and ask questions later.

Amy Satterthwaite’s just learned Kat stole her ID for a sham marriage. Desperate to clear her name and save her friend from Shaun, she swallows her pride and turns to arrogant Ross Pritchard for help. But can they find Kat in time?

Twists and tension keep the pages turning in A.A. Abbott’s stunning crime thriller. As Kat’s trail leads from London’s smart Fitzrovia to secret tunnels below central Birmingham, the stakes couldn’t be higher.

Book links ~ Amazon UK | Amazon US   Continue reading

Spotlight, (a very entertaining) Guest Post & #Extract ~ Molly Fish by Jack McMasters @AuthorightUKPR

When retired architect Arthur Howard receives an unexpected invitation from the elegant businesswoman he has just met, her promise of two weeks of incredible sex is enough to persuade him to forget his stale marriage and follow her to India. Leaving thoughts of his younger wife Ester far behind, Rani leads Arthur into paradise; her home lies in a beautiful valley filled with quiet villages, tranquil lakes, tea plantations and crocus fields, a place where his every need is catered for and his attention sought wherever he goes.

But danger lies hidden here. Arthur discovers that Rani and the other villagers he meets in this rural Indian idyll are the descendents of an ancient civilization, thought to be merely mythical. From his contact with them, he succumbs to a mysterious illness that keeps him bedridden for a long period in a darkened room. Confused and stricken, Arthur’s days and nights are haunted by wild dreams; when he is unable to sleep, he reminisces about early love affairs and fears for his failing relationship with Ester until he is unable to distinguish dreams from reality.

Book links ~ Amazon UK | Amazon US | B&N

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

‘A what? An in-depth spotlight?’ I asked, ‘What is that?  I’m a bit new to this and not up-to-date with modern jargon. I didn’t even know what a BLOG was. I knew I didn’t want to have anything to do with ‘bogs,’ I’m not a plumber, and the word sounded remarkably similar. Continue reading

Murder at the Bridge (Exham on Sea Mysteries 5) by @francesevesham #FridayReads #novella

  • Author: Frances Evesham
  • Published: June 2017 on Kindle
  • Category: Cozy Murder/Mystery, Book Review, Books, Reading

It’s summer, the sun’s shining, and Libby Forest is celebrating her son’s country wedding in Somerset, surrounded by friends. What could possibly go wrong?

Taking a moment to relax in the marquee after her son, Robert’s wedding to Sarah, Libby Forrest has a strange conversation with Belinda, the bride’s mother, which is interrupted by an unnerving man in a kaftan, causing Libby to prickle with discomfort and Belinda to make a hasty exit. Libby’s innate curiosity is aroused but before she could process her thoughts she is dismayed to hear an altercation break out over a supposedly stolen ring.  Continue reading

#Spotlight & #Excerpt ~ The Lost Sentinel by Suzanne Rogerson #BlogTour @rogersonsm

I’m pleased to be featuring the new release from Suzanne Rogerson.

Continue reading

The Red Hunter by Lisa Unger #Audiobook @lisaunger #Thriller

  • Author: Lisa Unger
  • Performed by Julia Whelan
  • Released: April 2017 by Simon & Schuster Audio
  • Category: Thriller, Audiobook, Review, Crime, Suspense

What is the difference between justice and revenge? In this buzzworthy new standalone thriller by New York Times bestselling author Lisa Unger, two wronged women on very different paths find themselves in the same dark place…

Initially the characters, their stories and the differing timelines seem unrelated – until the threads of the intricately woven plot begin to come together. The story opens with an unknown protagonist, told in the first person as she confronts someone from her past.

Claudia Bishop was looking for a fresh start when her marriage failed. She moved to the country with her daughter, Raven, and began renovating an old, run down property in the country.  Her life had never been the same after a violent assault in her own home, the struggle to regain some semblance of normality and the recovery process was chronicled in her popular blog, which morphed into an ongoing account of her renovation project. Continue reading

Broken Dolls (Jefferson Winter #1) by James Carol @JamesCarolBooks #TuesdayBookBlog

  • Author: James Carol
  • Published: January 2014 by Faber & Faber
  • Category: Crime, Thriller, Book Review, Books, Reading, Procedural

Jefferson Winter is no ordinary investigator.

The son of one of America’s most renowned serial killers, Winter has spent his life trying to distance himself from his father’s legacy.

After a successful career with the FBI, the last few years as a high achieving profiler, Jefferson Winter’s unconventional approach prompted him to leave the constraints of an organisation and go freelance. He now consults on serial killer cases worldwide.

His father was a convicted serial killer and the three words he mouthed as he lay on the prison gurney waiting to be executed, haunt Winter. It’s one of the incentives that drive him, motivating him to do what he does and also to dissociate himself from his father. Continue reading

Tempest in the Highlands (Scottish Relic Trilogy #3) @MayMcGoldrick #histfic #FridayReads @MacmillanAudio

Miranda MacDonnell is on the run. When she inherited a mysterious relic from her mother, she had no idea the dangers it would bring. Now hunted by a relentless foe who will stop at nothing to find her, she has one choice: stow away on the ship of the notorious privateer, Black Hawk.

Miranda MacDonnell has always been aware of her mother’s gift and what it entails. The visions her mother experienced enabled her to avert disasters and now, as her health fails completely, she passes the relic to her daughter. Miranda is persuaded to flee her home due to premonitions of great danger and she takes the fourth piece of the relic with her. She has to find her twin brother, Gavin, given away at birth in order to save his life, and stay out of the clutches of Sir Ralph Evers to save her own life. Continue reading