Ryan Kaine: On the Run by @KerryJDonovan #BookReview for #RBRT #FridayReads

  • Author: Kerry J Donovan
  • Published: May 2017 by Human Vertex Publications
  • Category: Crime, Thriller, Suspense, Book Review, Books, Reading

A passenger plane explodes. Eighty-three people die. One man is responsible.

When an apparently routine operation ends in tragedy, decorated ex-Royal Marine, Ryan Kaine, becomes the target of a nationwide manhunt. The police want him on terrorism charges, and a sinister organisation wants him dead. 

Former Royal Marine Captain Ryan Kaine, six miles out to sea in a fishing boat, believes he’s shot down the unmanned drone as per his contract to destroy it, but then he realises the weapon he’d used seems to be on a countdown. With no time to process what was happening he heaved the weapon overboard. As explosions rocked the boat violently he knew his only choice was to swim for his life, before the boat sank and he was caught in the undertow.  Continue reading

#ThrowbackThursday ~ Maelstrom by @FrancisGuenette #Suspense #Thriller

Renee at It’s Book Talk began this meme as a way to share old favourites, as well as books that were published over a year ago. Not to mention those that are languishing on the to be read pile for whatever reason.

This week I’ve chosen Maelstrom by Francis Guenette for my Throwback Thursday post. It was published in November 2015 and was a 5* read. Continue reading

Little Boy Lost by J.D. Trafford ~ Legal #Thriller #BookReview @LittleBirdPub

  • Author: J.D. Trafford
  • Publishing on August 1st 2017 by Thomas & Mercer
  • Category: Crime, Contemporary, Police Procedural, Legal Thriller, Book Review, Books, Reading 

Attorney Justin Glass’s practice, housed in a shabby office on the north side of Saint Louis, isn’t doing so well that he can afford to work for free. But when eight-year-old Tanisha Walker offers him a jar full of change to find her missing brother, he doesn’t have the heart to turn her away.

Justin Glass hails from a prominent political family; his father is the most senior US congressman in Missouri, his grandfather a retired Federal District Court Judge and his brother is a state senator. Justin has a small law practice. His life fell to pieces after his wife died. He was fired from his previous, more prestigious job and lost his house after getting into debt. Now he and his daughter, Sammy, live with his mother and grandfather. His one-man office is in the seedier part of town and he has a small contract with the Saint Louis Public Defender’s Office, which helps with the finances. Continue reading

Made Safe by Francis Sparks #Crime #Thriller reviewed for #RBRT #TuesdayBookBlog @writingsparks

  • Author: Francis Sparks
  • Published: January 2017 by Pandamoon Publishing
  • Category: Crime, Thriller, Book Review, Books, Reading

For Private Investigator, Moses Winter, the job just got more complicated. His adultery case has taken a violent turn landing the subject of his investigation, Fred Dunsmore, in the hospital and Moses in jail. Moses is held for questioning along with his erratic client, Sharon Dunsmore, and Fred’s mistress, a Bosnian refugee who just happens to be related to the DCI agent investigating the case, Raif Rakić.

When Private Investigator Moses Winter was hired by Sharon Dunsmore to find out if her husband was having an affair, he got way more than he bargained for. What had seemed like a straightforward infidelity case turns into something much darker when Sharon and Moses confront Fred Dunsmore and his girlfriend, Šejla, a Bosnian refugee. Sharon has a gun, which happened to belong to Moses, Šejla has a knife and Fred ends up in hospital fighting for his life, while Moses winds up in jail. When Fred goes missing the case takes on a whole new slant. Continue reading

Afterlife by Marcus Sakey #BookReview #TuesdayBookBlog @MarcusSakey **Release Day**

  • Author: Marcus Sakey
  • Published: July 2017 by Thomas & Mercer
  • Category: Thriller, Romance, Sci-Fi, Supernatural, Book Review, Books, Reading

Between life and death lies an epic war, a relentless manhunt through two worlds…and an unforgettable love story.

The last thing FBI agent Will Brody remembers is the explosion—a thousand shards of glass surfing a lethal shock wave.

He wakes without a scratch.

The story opens in 1532 as Edmund killed an apprentice and took his place aboard the Persephone, sailing to the new world. Two weeks into the return voyage a violent storm lashed the ship. The cargo and all provisions were lost and the men who survived on the battered ship resorted to desperate measures to stay alive, until only Edmund was left. He died just shy of a mile from land. Continue reading

Two Nights by Kathy Reichs #Thriller #FridayReads #Book Review

  • Author: Kathy Reichs
  • Published: June 2017 by Cornerstone Digital
  • Category: Thriller, Crime, Suspense, Book Review, Books, Reading

Meet Sunday Night, a woman with physical and psychological scars, and a killer instinct… 

Sunnie has spent years running from her past, burying secrets and building a life in which she needs no one and feels nothing. But a girl has gone missing, lost in the chaos of a bomb explosion, and the family needs Sunnie’s help. 

Sunday (Sunnie) Night is a recluse with a troubled past, living on a spit of land off the coast of Charleston.  Ex military, she joined the Charleston Police Department until an injury and the prospect of a desk job ended her career in the force. When her foster father, Beau, visits with a proposition, Sunnie is initially wary, not wanting to get involved. She has spent the last few years distancing herself from people. Beau leaves her the details anyway, and after disposing of the piece of paper and a restless night Sunnie retrieves the screwed up piece of paper from the waste basket. Continue reading

#Spotlight ~ The Bride’s Trail (The Trail Series Bk 1) by AA Abbott #Thriller @BrookCottageBks #Extract

Perfect for fans of John Grisham, Jeffrey Archer and Ruth Rendell

Twenty grand has vanished from Shaun Halloran’s casino, and so has gorgeous blonde croupier Kat White. Once he’s tracked her down, he’ll shoot first and ask questions later.

Amy Satterthwaite’s just learned Kat stole her ID for a sham marriage. Desperate to clear her name and save her friend from Shaun, she swallows her pride and turns to arrogant Ross Pritchard for help. But can they find Kat in time?

Twists and tension keep the pages turning in A.A. Abbott’s stunning crime thriller. As Kat’s trail leads from London’s smart Fitzrovia to secret tunnels below central Birmingham, the stakes couldn’t be higher.

Book links ~ Amazon UK | Amazon US   Continue reading

#ThrowbackThursday ~ Honour & Obey #histfic @carolJhedges

Renee at It’s Book Talk began this meme as a way to share old favourites, as well as books that were published over a year ago. Not to mention those that are languishing on the to be read pile for whatever reason.

This week I’d like to showcase Honour & Obey by Carol Hedges, the second of four books featuring Stride and Cully, policemen in Victorian London.  Continue reading

The Black Hornet (James Ryker Book 2) by @RSinclairAuthor #Thriller @BloodhoundBook #BlogTour

Welcome to the final day of the Bloodhound Books Blog Tour for The Black Hornet, which I’m sharing with Chelles Book Reviews.

  • Author: Rob Sinclair
  • Published: June 2017 by Bloodhound Books
  • Category: Thriller, Suspense, Crime, Action, Book Review, Books, Reading, Blog Tour

What do you do when the love of your life vanishes without a trace? If you’re ex-intelligence agent James Ryker you search for the answers whatever the cost, however much blood and sacrifice it takes…

Six months ago Lisa was taken from Ryker, and he’ll stop at nothing to find out who is responsible and why. Following a trail to Mexico, the ex-Joint Intelligence Agency asset soon finds himself in the firing line of enemies he long thought he’d left behind. Set-up for the murder of a former informant, Ryker is thrown into a crumbling jail run by The Black Hornet, the notorious leader of a Mexican drug cartel. But what connects the cartel to the informant’s murder, and to Lisa’s disappearance? And just who is the mystery American claiming he can help Ryker in his hour of need?

The Black Hornet is the second book in the bestselling James Ryker series. Part Bourne, part Reacher, it’s an explosive and action-packed thriller to rival any other.

Continue reading

State vs Lassiter (Jake Lassiter Series) by Paul Levine Legal #Thriller @Jake_Lassiter #BookReview

  • Author: Paul Levine
  • Performed by Luke Daniels
  • Released: May 2017 by Brilliance Audio
  • Category: Crime, Thriller, Legal Drama, Murder/Mystery, Audiobook, Review, Books, Reading

Jake’s law practice is booming…

He’s crazy about the new woman in his life…

His one-time delinquent nephew Kip is getting A’s in school…

What can go wrong?

Oh…how about a charge of first degree murder?

Life is good for Jake Lassiter, ex Miami Dolphins linebacker turned lawyer,…..until he wakes up on the beach with the hangover from hell and no memory of how he got there. He and his lover, Pamela Baylins were spending a romantic weekend at the Fontainebleau Hotel, courtesy of a grateful client. Continue reading