#ThrowbackThurday ~ The Vatican Princess – A Novel of Lucrezia Borgia by C.W. Gortner #Historical Fiction #AudiobookReview

Renee at It’s Book Talk began this meme as a way to share old favourites, as well as books that were published over a year ago. Not to mention those that are languishing on the to be read pile for whatever reason.

This week it’s the turn of another audiobook.  The Vatican Princess – A Novel of Lucrezia Borgia, written by C.W. Gortner and narrated by Julia Whelan, it was originally published in 2016. 

Continue reading

The Vatican Princess ~ A Novel of Lucrezia Borgia by C.W. Gortner #Audio #Histfic @CWGortner

  • 25614810Audiobook Review
  • Author: C.W. Gortner
  • Performed by Julia Whelan
  • Released: February 2016 by Random House Audio
  • Category: Historical Fiction
  • five-stars

For fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, a gripping novel that follows the extraordinary life of young Lucrezia Borgia, the legendary Renaissance Pope Alexander’s beautiful daughter. Was she the heartless seductress of legend? Or merely an unsuspecting pawn in a familial web, forced to choose between loyalty and her own survival?

There are so so many books out there on the Borgias, Lucrezia in particular, you might be tempted to wonder… why another one? This is an approach I haven’t seen before. Granted, I haven’t read a huge amount on the subject and what I did read was many years ago. I do, however, remember being fascinated by the stories of one of the most infamous families in European history, and so when this audiobook became available, narrated by the wonderful Julia Whelan, I chose it without hesitation. I haven’t read C.W. Gortner before but after this I will definitely be looking for more of his books. Continue reading

#FridayBookShare ~ The Vatican Princess – A novel of Lucrezia Borgia by @CWGortner #histfic #FridayReads

#FridayBookShare ~ an excellent idea created by Shelley Wilson

With the weekend approaching it’s the perfect time to seek out new books to read, so Shelley created a Friday Book Share game to help search for that ideal read.

FridayBookShare

Anyone can join in. Just answer the following F.R.I.D.A.Y. questions based on the book you’re either currently reading (or listening to, in this case) or have just finished reading. Use the hashtag #FridayBookShare and remember to tag Shelley (@ShelleyWilson72)  Continue reading