#FridayBookShare ~ The Perdition Score (Sandman Slim #8) by Richard Kadrey #UrbanFantasy @ShelleyWilson72

#FridayBookShare ~ an excellent idea created by Shelley Wilson

With the weekend approaching it’s the perfect time to seek out new books to read, so Shelley created a Friday Book Share game to help search for that ideal read.

FridayBookShare

Anyone can join in. Just answer the following F.R.I.D.A.Y. questions based on the book you’re either currently reading (or listening to, in my case) or have just finished reading. Use the hashtag #FridayBookShare and remember to tag Shelley (@ShelleyWilson72) 

First line of the book.

Recruit fans by adding the book blurb.

Introduce the main character using only three words.

Delightful design (add the cover image of the book).

Audience appeal (who would enjoy reading this book?)

Your favourite line/scene.

~~~~~~~~

Another audiobook this week, again narrated by MacLeod Andrews. I’ve followed this series from book one and love it.

First line of the book.

Thomas Abbot is talking about the end of the world, but I can’t keep my eyes open.

Recruit fans by adding the book blurb.

The request from Thomas Abbot, the Augur of the Sub Rosa council, couldn’t come at a better time for James Stark, aka Sandman Slim. For a man who’s most recently met Death—and death’s killer—a few months of normal life is more than he can handle. He needs a little action, and now Abbott wants Stark and Candy to investigate the disappearance of a young boy—and help uncover council members who might be tied to Wormwood’s power brokers.

Stark’s plans change when he meets a dying angel who gives him a vial of a mysterious black liquid that could be a secret weapon in the ongoing war between angels who want to allow human souls into Heaven and rebel angels willing to die to keep them out. When one of Stark’s closest friends is poisoned with the black liquid, Stark and Candy have to go to the only place where they might find a cure: Hell.

But standing in their way are the damned souls who, even after death, still work for Wormwood. The secret deal they’ve struck with the rebel angels is darker than anything Stark has encountered. Not only does the fate of the world hang in the balance, but also the souls of everyone in it. Stark has to find a way to break the stalemate in the angel war, score the Perdition cure for the black poison, and make it back to LA in one piece—where an old enemy waits to finish him once and for all.

Introduce the main character using only three words.

James Stark ~ nephilim, tough, complex.

Delightful design (add the cover image of the book).

26818454

Audience appeal (who would enjoy reading this book?)

Urban Fantasy fans who like their fun, gritty and dark stories with a cast of characters which includes angels and hellions, along with magic and mayhem. 

Your favourite line/scene.

“This isn’t good,” says Vidocq.

“She was out of her mind. If I didn’t fight back she would have killed me and everyone on the boulevard. This isn’t my fault.” 

“I didn’t mean that. What I meant is that if angels are free to battle in the streets, Heaven must be in extreme disarray.” 

“That’s the impression I got.”

“Have you heard from your friend Samael? Or My Muninn?”

“Not a word. I get the feeling they’re pretty busy. And it’s not like I can go and see them anymore.” 

“You must watch yourself,” Vidocq says. “You’re in danger from Earth and the celestial realms.”

~~~~~~~~

Book links ~ Amazon UK | US

A Reason To Live (Marty Singer #1) by Matthew Iden @CrimeRighter ~ Crime fiction #bookreview

  • 14121045Author: Matthew Iden
  • Published: Reissued September 2015 by Thomas & Mercer
  • Category: Crime, Thriller, Suspense
  • four-half-stars

In the late nineties, a bad cop killed a good woman and DC Homicide detective Marty Singer watched the murderer walk out of the courtroom a free man. 

It’s a case that retired detective Marty Singer has never been able to put out of his mind completely – the murder of Brenda Lane by Michael Wheeler. Wheeler was a police officer with the same force as Marty and the crime left Brenda’s young daughter an orphan. Wheeler was found not guilty, even though his story didn’t add up. 

Twelve years later, Marty is feeling weary and apathetic having been diagnosed with cancer, which precipitated his retirement. He is about to begin chemotherapy treatment when Brenda’s daughter, Amanda, who was twelve years old at the time of her mother’s murder, seeks him out. She believes Michael Wheeler is back and is targeting her. Continue reading

Dead is Dead ~ Jack Bertolino #3 by @jelansing ~ Hard hitting #thriller

  • 28111823Author: John Lansing
  • Published: May 2016 by Gallery Books/Karen Hunter Publishing
  • Category: Thriller, Crime, Suspense
  • five-stars

Retired Inspector Jack Bertolino gets his first taste of the erratic nature of Hollywood when A-list producer, George Litton, options one of Jack’s recent cases for a film.

Private investigator Jack Bertolino, previously an inspector with the NYPD, is employed as technical advisor, consulting on a movie being made of his last case. His job includes protection for the female star, who is being targeted by a disturbed, out of control stalker. Susan Blake is beautiful, haunted by a past that she can’t lay to rest.

During filming there’s an actual shooting several blocks away, which results in the accidental and tragic death of little Maria Sanchez and also that of known drug dealer, Tomas Vegas. Cruz Feinberg, the technical wizard in Jack’s company, knows the Sanchez family and asks Jack to make some enquiries. As Jack’s investigation progresses the Dirk brothers’ names pop up too often for Jack’s liking and his ingrained cop’s instinct is on high alert.  Continue reading

Introducing Spider 2-3 ~ A fast paced #Thriller by Robert Vallier #Excerpt

Spider 2-3A murder in Berlin… A kidnapping in the Caribbean… A girl held hostage and forced to reveal vital secrets. The terrorist Malekka has joined forces with a Russian traitor from the upper corridors of power in the former KGB. Together they plot a raid on a military centre in South Africa. It’s the first action of his international plan. His parents died. Now he’s going to kill over 3 million people. Where is the attack to be? The United States? Great Britain? Jim Peregrine and the British intelligence are one step behind and play a deadly game of catch-up. Waiting for the breakthrough. Yet all is not as it seems. Who exactly is who, and what side is being played, and by whom? JP sets out to unravel and defeat the plan. And find the girl. Revenge is sweet. JP means to take it. And so does she.

Book links ~ Amazon UK | Amazon US

EXCERPT FROM SPIDER 2-3

Chapter 01 Berlin.  The Present

THE ELEVATOR DOORS opened.  The night receptionist looked up from her keyboard and glanced at the man.  She noticed the light brown coat, the dark shoes, the grey hair.  No-one important.  She put away her empty smile.

It would be the last smile he’d ever see.  Continue reading

#FridayBookShare ~ That Bright Land by Terry Roberts #Histfic @robertsterrylee @ShelleyWilson72 #FridayReads

#FridayBookShare ~ an excellent idea created by Shelley Wilson

With the weekend approaching it’s the perfect time to seek out new books to read, so Shelley created a Friday Book Share game to help search for that ideal read.

FridayBookShare

Anyone can join in. Just answer the following F.R.I.D.A.Y. questions based on the book you’re either currently reading (or listening to, in my case) or have just finished reading. Use the hashtag #FridayBookShare and remember to tag Shelley (@ShelleyWilson72)  Continue reading

The Vatican Princess ~ A Novel of Lucrezia Borgia by C.W. Gortner #Audio #Histfic @CWGortner

  • 25614810Audiobook Review
  • Author: C.W. Gortner
  • Performed by Julia Whelan
  • Released: February 2016 by Random House Audio
  • Category: Historical Fiction
  • five-stars

For fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, a gripping novel that follows the extraordinary life of young Lucrezia Borgia, the legendary Renaissance Pope Alexander’s beautiful daughter. Was she the heartless seductress of legend? Or merely an unsuspecting pawn in a familial web, forced to choose between loyalty and her own survival?

There are so so many books out there on the Borgias, Lucrezia in particular, you might be tempted to wonder… why another one? This is an approach I haven’t seen before. Granted, I haven’t read a huge amount on the subject and what I did read was many years ago. I do, however, remember being fascinated by the stories of one of the most infamous families in European history, and so when this audiobook became available, narrated by the wonderful Julia Whelan, I chose it without hesitation. I haven’t read C.W. Gortner before but after this I will definitely be looking for more of his books. Continue reading

Fury ~ A Supernatural #Horror by @JoanDeLaHaye #TuesdayBookBlog Reviewed for #RBRT

  • 29754336Author: Joan De La Haye
  • Kindle Edition
  • Category: Supernatural, Horror, Murder
  • four-stars

A young girl is brutally murdered.

Two rival crime bosses fight for dominance on the streets of South Africa’s capital city.

The prologue sets the scene as the mutilated corpse of a young woman rises and sets off on a dark quest for vengeance. While on a night out with friends, Angela meets Andre and is persuaded to go home with him. Only she isn’t going to Andre’s home. Andre is a junkie who will do anything for his next fix and that includes supplying girls for the worst kind of depravity. Angela is tortured viciously and murdered, what’s left of her wrapped in plastic bags and dumped. Angela finds herself in some sort of limbo, dead yet determined to make those responsible pay. Continue reading